Gastronomika San Sebastian

09 oktober, 2023

The Kursaal Congress Centre will again be playing host to many of the leading players overthelast two and ahalf decadesof the longest standing congress.José Andrés, Yoshihiro Narisawa, Joan Roca, Alex Atala, Eneko Atxa and Quique Dacosta will be attheevent,withJapanese andUScuisineas themain features.FerranAdrià will be taking the Homage Award, Jancis Robinson the "Gueridón de Oro" Award, and Rafael García Santos the Pau Albornà i Torras Journalism Award.Registration      is      now      available      on      the      congress    website,


The history of contemporary gastronomy forms part of San Sebastian Gastronomika Euskadi Basque Country. As does the future, because the longest standing major gastronomy event is keen to continue its links to it as judge and jury of gastronomic avant-garde. This year, from 9 to 11 October, the 25th anniversary will be held with many surprises in store. The Kursaal Congress Centre will again be playing host to many of the leading players over the last two and a half decades. But also to those who are now taking up the torch and forging new trajectories. And Japanese and US cuisine will be the main attractions.

This is a red-letter date: the 25th anniversary. This happy circumstance calls for a look back at all the achievements over a period that has been as long as it has been intense. It asks us to take anostalgia-free trip downthe memory laneofworldwidecontemporary cuisine, homing in on all the milestones chalked up by San Sebastián towards the future of national and international cookery (featuring molecular cooking, new Nordic cuisine, gastronomic explosions in some of the world's major nations, new "terroir" trajectories, scintillating transversal sustainability projects etc.), and celebrating the fact that it was here, in Donostia, that marked the beginnings of the future we are now experiencing (and are continuing to experience).

The list of speakers will live up to the 25th anniversary of SebastianGastronomika Euskadi Basque Country. Chefs Rasmus Munk and René Redzepi (Denmark), José Andrés (US), LeonorEspinosa (Colombia),AlexAtala (Brazil),YoshihiroNarisawa (Japan) and Matthew Lightner (US) have now confirmed they will be there). We will also have a considerable representation of Spanish chefs, including Ángel León, Joan Roca, Eneko Atxa, Elena Arzak, Pedro Subijana, Ricard Camarena, Quique Dacosta, Diego Guerrero and Albert Adrià.

The last 25 years call for no let-up in expectations, and for us to continue, as always, with global gastronomic state-of-the-art, showcasing and publicising a constant stream of new phenomena, and, of course, to continue to innovate our format in harmony with the modern age. This is why plans have been made for such a red-letter event, an all-new congress map to shake up and analyse all the events over the last quarter of a century, a sounding board for all the new trends, for demonstrations in accordance with modern needs. And those wishing to get up close and personal with this special anniversary    can        now        register        on       the       congress     website:


Ferran Adrià, Jancis Robinson and García Santos, prizewinners on the 25th anniversary


At such a special event, three unique trajectories will be acknowledged as prizewinners at this 25th anniversary of San Sebastian Gastronomika Euskadi Basque Country: Ferran Adrià, Jancis Robinson and Rafael García Santos.


The HomageAward will go to Ferran Adrià,the chef who led the last major gastronomy revolution. A revolution he has now transferred to research. The change of paradigm brought about by Spain's so-called gastronomy revolution has earned a place in the History books, and has elevated Ferran Adrià to something more than a famous chef, a player in universal culture.

The "Gueridón de Oro" on the 25th anniversary will go to Jancis Robinson, the most influential woman in the world of wine for over forty years. The author of legendary tomes such as ‘The Oxford Companion to Wine’, ‘The World Atlas of Wine’ and 'Wine Grapes’ (the Bible of wine professionals), and also heading up a historic BBC wine series. As if all this were not enough, Robinson was the first woman to become a Master of Wine without actually forming part of the sector, and Decanter magazine has acclaimed her as the world's most respected wine critic and journalist.The Pau Alborná y Torras Journalism Award will go to Rafael García Santos. The author of a large number of books, García Santos was one of the leading gastronomy critics and the forerunner of gastronomy congresses in Spain in his work to promote gastronomic activities.

Print deze pagina